not letting go

a few weeks ago i spent the money phil gave me for some birthday jewellery.  it took me a while to sort out in my head what i wanted and after a long online battle with some silver ring scam merchants, i decided i didn’t want a ring, i wanted something more personal and unique.  i knew i seen a jeweller’s work a while back that i had admired but knew i’d never spend that sort of money on myself.  however, now i had reason to i couldn’t remember who or where!  after searching old posts on blogs i read i found her: lisa leonard. she makes absolutely lovely, personal jewellery alongside her standard range and i had a hard time choosing what i wanted and what i wanted the words to read.  one day i’d love a necklace that represents my family, but right now it was important to represent me so in the end i went for an open circle.

it arrived about a month ago and i have worn it almost every day since.  it reminds me that i am loved by many people and by God, that as well as being defined by my roles, i am also me and i must remember to value my own personality and creativity.  it also reminds me that however hard life gets, God never lets go of me and in the really tough times i need to remember not to let go of him.

the words on this side read ‘not letting go’, taken from a song by jars of clay:

“Fly”
Be still
Let your hand melt into mine
The part of me
That breathes when you breathe
Is losing time
I can’t find the words to say
I’ll never say goodbye

And I’ll fly with you
Through the night so you know
I’m not letting go
I’m not letting go
Tears like rain fill up the sky
Oh my love
I’m not letting go
I won’t let you go


I saw a host of silent angels
Waiting on their own
Knowing that all the promises
Of faith come alive
When you see home
Hold still and let your
Hand melt into mine

Shed your heart and your breath
And your pain and fly
Now you’re alive

Now you’re alive
Now you’re alive
Now you’re alive

I won’t let you go
I’m not letting go

Leave a Reply

